La Nature

by jemma margaret

The gorgeous weather prompted a picnic for lunch today. With a well dressed salad and a sandwich au jambon et fromage, we sought out a perfect bench or set of chairs in the Luxembourg Gardens.

Besides old women walking cats, there is very little of nature in Paris. I have not even seen a rat (keep looking!!). But we should not have let our guard down in the garden.

First, Popz was chased by a yellow jacket and forced to relocate up the hill. While I was laughing at his plight I heard a mighty plop and found myself splashed by an enormous dark wet bird poop that fortunately landed on my bag (rather than my lap).

From a safe distance this picture was taken.

 

On a less dangerous note, we happened across the École Polytechnique, one my research subjects and hence part of my sketch repertoire.

