Le sel

by jemma margaret

I have been treating myself.

Not extravagantly, of course.

None of these.

Or these.

Or these?

Just wine with dinner and something sweet afterward. The desserts are as much an excuse to try some French delicacy as to finish the meal. Over the weekend, I went to two specialty confectionery shops. Both times I found myself directly following an American who was REALLY treating herself (or buying gifts).

My seulement un marshmallow (Saturday) and seulement un caramel chocolat noir (Sunday) were both excellent specimens of their type, but I determined (as you may have guessed from the title) that they needed a little bit of salt.

It’s an addiction, and I am not about to give it up. Especially since I haven’t been to Brittany yet.

I suppose once you start having saltier desserts everything else tastes a little flat. I’ve even taken to adding a hearty dash of salt to my oatmeal in the morning.

In fact, the only thing that I definitely do not want salt in is my water.

Meanwhile, I continue the treat scavenging. Apparently, there is something called CSB–and you can guess what the S stands for!

