Who are the people in your neighborhood?

by jemma margaret

Yesterday I moved 1.1 kilometers. Shockingly, this was not my shortest move. In the late summer of 2011 I moved 1 kilometer, and once at Disneyworld we moved up 10 floors (to a luxurious suite!) when our handicap room needed to be used by a real handicapped person. There was free sushi at cocktail hour in the upper lobby. It was glorious.

This move was less glorious, especially because I insisted on schlepping my groceries and I had recently bought a few baking ingredients (see Cook my Book in the next few days for that episode!).

Now I am fairly settled into my new digs on the Rue des Archives (except I can’t figure out how to light the oven). Though not so far away, I find myself on a wholly new commute. Here are some of the people that I meet as I’m walking down the street each day.

Tourists:


Sometimes they stand in line and sometimes they ask for directions. Occasionally they stand in line to wait for directions or ask for directions to lines.

My new headless friend:

Not quite headless, he has his head…it’s just not on his neck.

Math (?) lady:

I want to say she’s holding a compass, but it might be a giant pair of tweezers. In which case she is not a mathematician, just very very frightening.

