Musée de la chasse et de la nature

by jemma margaret

Have you seen my recent id photos?

They look pretty much like this:

I think the message that I’m trying to convey is, please, please don’t throw me out of your country. So far it seems to be working.

This is also the face I had on today while at the Musée de la chasse et de la nature. It’s only two blocks away and free the first Sunday of the month. Rather than wait in line at the also free Louvre and Musée d’Orsay, this seemed like a worthwhile alternative.

Since the museum was free, I walked right in and found myself face to face with a polar bear. Well, more like face to torso since it was rearing on its hind-legs and I’m not that tall. Can’t be sure whether the shivers that persisted for the remainder of my visit were due to the fairly drafty old building or the scores of glassy eyes looking out at me. Aside from a diverse array of taxidermy, there were also classical paintings, fancy guns, drawers of comics, contemporary  multimedia pieces, and cast models of various animal droppings.


A très bizarre, but highly recommended experience.

