les seins

by jemma margaret

Today I stopped into the Musée Carnavalet, which happens to be nearby and free to the public. I followed signs straight up up up to the French Revolution. Once there I saw a lot of jacobins and, less expectedly, breasts.

The museums website doesn’t include photos of any of these (lurid?) paintings, but here’s a very well-known example of l’esprit des temps.

Pillar10-History-French-Revolution-Delacroix

Otherwise, you will just have to trust me that this sort of imagery was all over the place (googling “french revolution breasts” was not a good idea…). There was even a rather complicated allegory with a six breasted lady. She seemed angry.

Something about liberty, equality, and fraternity does not go hand in hand with a modest top. Which explains a lot about college Greek societies I suppose.

