le crottin

by jemma margaret

If you are relying on Google translate, you might misinterpret the topic of today’s post.

Though “dung” is a topic near and less than dear to all Parisians, and I could verily tell you true tales of motocrottes–well, that will be for another day.

This evening we are talking about goat cheese.

Excuse me, the more upfront yet still polite of you might ask. But what does goat cheese have to do with le crottin.

That is a very good question. One might guess that it is a similarity in shape and color when both are dried. Clearly the nomenclature cannot be attributed to an advertiser or gastronome. Can you imagine “little turd” cheese selling very well in the Anglosaxon world?

No, me neither.

Le crottin is a cheese with a seemingly infinite expiration date. It can be purchased from most cheesemongers at all degrees of freshness, from grassy sweet 1 day old crottins to what may or may not be a small rock. Does anyone buy these impenetrable light brown disks? And, if so, what do they do with them? Where do they buy their cheese graters?

As I explained to my cheese lady’s assistant this afternoon, through words and gestures, I preferred a different type of aged goat cheese. He pulled out a largish wheel. This seemed safer, and I bought a 100 gram piece.

Upon closer inspection, it is a somewhat frightening small wedge of cheese. A foreboding gray streak runs through the middle and the rind crumbles like something recently uncovered from an Egyptian tomb.

I’ll be eating it on my pizza tomorrow evening. If you don’t see a new blog post, well, you’ll know why.

 

