une chose et une autre

by jemma margaret

This evening’s rosé is a Carignan, Grenache, Cinsault blend described as floral, fruity, and with notes of bonbons anglais. Wanting to find out exactly what English candies taste like, I bought the bottle. Having poured myself a glass, I am no more enlightened. One hopes they weren’t referring to wine jellies? As Thomas Pynchon wrote via his character Slothrop in Gravity’s Rainbow (read it! but not in two weeks as I did, if you want to stay sane):

The English are kind of weird when it comes to the way things taste, Mom. They aren’t like us. It might be the climate. They go for things we would never dream of. Sometimes it is enough to turn your stomach, boy. The other day I had one of these things they call ‘wine jellies’. That’s their idea of candy, Mom! Figure out a way to feed some to that Hitler ‘n’ I betcha the war’d be over tomorrow!

For my next bottle I intend on trying the rosé described as tasting feminine.* Who writes this copy? It’s working!

On Friday I learned a useful French phrase, sauter du coq à l’âne, which could be interpreted in a very bad way if translated word for word into English slang, but innocuously means to change the subject entirely.

Do you see what I did there?

*(which reminds me of a dream I had a couple nights ago where I was at a small plates restaurant that also had “manus” which featured more substantial masculine dishes)

