Duralex

by jemma margaret

If you’ve ever had water at a French café then you’ve probably drunk from a Duralex glass.

Duralex has been manufacturing glassware in France since 1939 or since 1945 depending on two different bits of information on their website (I imagine this is due to World War II). They invented the glass tempering process and their glass is very…durable.

After all those years, there style has become very iconic. My roommate has similar glasses, but made by Ikea in China. They are much less light weight and not quite as curvy as the originals.

With all that “Made in France” branding you might expect Duralex would be expensive, but it is astoundingly affordable. Today I bought a set of six dessert plates for 1 euro 90. That’s less than a cup of coffee.

Whoa, whoa, whoa, you’re thinking! Hold it with the product placement and back up. You bought six plates? Aren’t you leaving in a little over a month?

Yes, this is true (as my sister often says), but this whole time I have been wishing that the plates in my apartment were a little less big. Since all the libraries were closed today, I had no good reason to leave the house. Thus I made up a bad reason: I needed to buy a plate. I walked over to my old neighborhood and a very hip très Brooklyn shop called Merci. The clothes there are lovely and exorbitantly expensive, but if you buy any you can feel righteous because all the proceeds go to fund educational projects in Madagascar.

Or, do as I did and buy what was probably the cheapest thing in the whole place. And the proceeds still go to Madagascar! Win win win!

But then in typical Jemma budgetary backlash, I felt like it would be inappropriate to then spend 2 euros on a coffee. I mean, come on, I could have twelve dessert plates! And help children learn! Dessert plates and intelligence for everyone!

I took a nap instead.

For a bit of self-promotion (rather than French manufacturer promotion), check-out Cook my Book tomorrow to see my new flatware in action.

